Bali IB DP English

Idea: “The Editor’s Notes” – Tash

In Ideas for this blog on 25/03/2009 at 10:49

So my first idea is to write in the perspective of Max Havelaar’s editor. I think it would be fun as Max mentions him several times; usually because of a disagreement over wording or what to put into the chapter. I would be very free in creating this character of the ‘editor’ but it would obviously correspond with what Max says of him in the novel. It would be interesting to see the thoughts of someone who is both profiting from this book but may also not agree with Max on many things…

I don’t know. I’m kind of excited about it… but is it a good idea? Comments please!

  1. I think that you idea has a lot of potential- do watch out that you differentiate between the editing work of Droogstoppel and others and the editor character whom you create.

  2. Okay, well to avoid this maybe I could focus on what I think of every chapter, and only say that I’ve changed something when Droogstoppel mentions it explicitly. I’d comment on each chapter as it goes along… Maybe I should change the title to “The Editor’s Diary”.. although that doesn’t sound half as cool.

  3. No< no keep your original title- just be aware that the editors change and maybe you could have a not about how they change- like a corporate takeover or someone quit the job. I think you post is very important!

  4. Awesome.

  5. I think it’s pretty awesome

Leave a Reply

